Shopify Collabs, and what brands running creator gifting actually use

Shopify Collabs is Shopify's own affiliate tool. It sits inside the admin, lets you recruit creators, send them product or discount codes, track the sales they drive, and pay commissions on the Shopify bill. It is free to install, and there is a 2.9% processing fee on every automatic commission payment.

Most guides to Collabs stop at the setup steps. This one covers what it costs, who can currently use it, where it stops working — and, because we went and checked, which brands are actually running on it. We opened the public creator-program pages of 36 direct-to-consumer brands. Twenty-seven named a platform. Four were on Shopify Collabs.

7-day trial. Card required before access.

Prefer to talk it through first? Book a 15-min call

What Shopify Collabs is

Collabs is an affiliate program built into the Shopify admin. A merchant can recruit creators, run an application page on their storefront, send gifts or discount codes, generate personalised affiliate links, track the sales those links drive, and pay commissions through their Shopify bill.

It is available on every Shopify plan except Starter and Retail.

Two mechanisms sit underneath it, and they behave differently:

Shopify added a Collabs Network and instant commission links in April 2023, which lets merchants share a brand profile and commission link directly with creators.

What it costs

ItemCost
Installing the appFree
Processing fee on automatic commission payments2.9%
The commission itselfWhatever rate you set
Gifted productYour cost of goods
Shipping on giftsYours — free shipping always applies to the creator
Currency conversionPossible, if your bill is not in USD

The 2.9% is charged on every automatic commission payment and appears on your Shopify bill. Automatic payments are handled in USD, so if your Shopify bill uses another currency, local conversion fees may apply on top. Creators who choose a non-USD payout absorb their own conversion cost.

On payout timing: commissions sit in a holding period before they are confirmed — 30 days by default, adjustable anywhere from 1 to 90 days. Once it lapses, the amount joins your next Shopify bill and is paid to creators who have turned on auto payouts. Manual payments ended on 8 January 2024; everything now runs through the bill.

US-based creators who are asked for a W9 and do not submit one have their payouts capped at $599.99 per year until they do.

One objection worth naming, because merchants raise it: some are wary of a free Shopify app on the grounds that it may not stay free once enough stores depend on it. That is a reasonable instinct about free software generally, though in this case the pricing already exists — the 2.9% on every commission payment is the business model, not a trial period. On a program paying out $10,000 in commissions a year, that is $290.

Who can currently use it

The merchant side is simple: any Shopify plan except Starter and Retail.

The creator side is not, and it is the single most important thing to know before you plan a program around Collabs. Shopify's own help centre currently states:

Collabs isn't accepting new creator signups at this time.

Creators with existing brand partnerships keep their accounts and the app. Merchants can still invite creators directly and accept applications through their store page. But a creator who does not already have a Collabs account cannot create one to join your program.

If your plan was to run an application page and let a new audience of creators sign up through it, that plan needs checking against this before you build around it.

How recruiting actually works

Collabs has a searchable creator directory inside the app. You can filter by keyword, location, social platform — Instagram, YouTube, TikTok, Facebook, Twitch, X — and audience size, then sort by relevance or follower count.

For outreach, there are real limits worth knowing up front:

The 100-per-week cap is the one that shapes program design. A seeding program that wants 300 creators live in a month cannot be recruited through Collabs invitations alone.

Do creators actually use Collabs?

This is the question merchants ask most often about Collabs, and it is the one the setup guides never address. It deserves a direct answer, because the honest one is mixed.

The supply side is fixed and cannot grow. Shopify is not accepting new creator signups. Everyone with a Collabs account today either already had one or joined before signups closed. Whatever the pool contains now is what it will contain, minus attrition, for as long as that stays true. Any other creator platform's roster grows while this one does not.

Invitations frequently go unanswered. One merchant described sending around 20 invitations and receiving no responses. Another reported getting few responses generally, which is why they stopped sending invites and left the application page up instead. Invitations also expire after 30 days, so a non-response is a silent one.

But the merchant side is real. This is where our own research is more useful than opinion. We checked the public creator-program pages of 36 direct-to-consumer brands, and 4 of the 27 that named a platform were running on Collabs — with live application links, defined review windows, and both gifting and commission on offer. Those are functioning programs, not abandoned pages.

So the fair reading is that Collabs is genuinely used and genuinely works, mostly as a place to route creators a brand has already found and to pay them. Where it disappoints is when it is expected to supply creators. With signups closed, treating it as a discovery channel is planning around a pool that cannot grow. Treating it as the tracking and payment layer for a roster you build elsewhere is exactly the job the four brands above are using it for.

Where it stops working: gifting has no accountability loop

This is the part that most guides to Collabs leave out, and it is not an opinion — it comes out of Shopify's own documentation.

The gifting pages explain how to offer a free product or a discount code, that free shipping always applies, and that once a creator claims the gift an order appears in your admin to fulfil. The programs pages explain commission structures.

Neither defines anything the creator owes in return. There is no content requirement, no deliverable tracking, no post verification, and no stated consequence if a creator accepts a gift and never posts.

That is not a bug. Collabs is an affiliate tracking and payment system, and affiliate economics are self-enforcing: a creator who does not drive sales earns no commission, so nobody loses anything. Gifting inverts that. The cost is incurred the moment the parcel ships, and the return is entirely discretionary.

Merchants describe exactly that outcome, and they have been describing it consistently for years.

In an archived r/shopify discussion from 2023, four separate merchants independently reported the same thing — creators coming through Collabs took the free product and produced nothing. One had moved to gifting only over email or DM, after a relationship already existed. Another described sending roughly 20 invitations and receiving no responses at all, then getting no takers from 15 applicants on a tiered gifting offer.

A second thread roughly two years later repeats it almost word for word: a merchant reporting that people asked for samples to do a product review when they only wanted free product, and never posted.

The recurrence is the point. A complaint that shows up once is anecdote. The same complaint, from unconnected merchants, two years apart, matching a documented gap in how the product works, is structural. These are still individual accounts rather than a survey, and they should be read that way — but they are consistent with a product that has no mechanism for the problem, because it was never built to have one.

The public review picture is similarly split rather than bad. On the Shopify App Store, Collabs holds 4.1 stars across 397 reviews — but the distribution is bimodal: 54% five-star and 21% one-star. That is not the shape of a mediocre product. It is the shape of a product that works well for one job and poorly for another.

What merchants do instead

The interesting part of that 2023 discussion is not the complaint. It is that several merchants had already built their own answer to it, and the answers fall into four distinct patterns. All of them are ways of putting something at stake before product ships.

Make the creator pay first, then refund in credit. One merchant stopped gifting entirely and built a flow where anyone can buy the product, complete a structured prompted video review, and receive 100% store credit back on submission. Their framing was that both sides then have skin in the game, and that the product value sits in escrow while the content is outstanding. They limited purchases to one unit per person and automated the rebate. Successful content then got tested in ads, and only creators whose content performed were approached for a formal relationship.

Charge a token amount instead of gifting outright. A beverage brand set tiered gift levels of $20, $25 and $30 depending on how well the applicant fit, against a product that costs $33 plus $5 shipping. A $30 gift still leaves the creator paying $8. Their reasoning was explicitly that they did not want to hand free product to random applicants. Worth knowing how it went: they reported 15 applicants and no takers, and separately 20 recruitment invitations with no responses. A payment barrier does filter out people who only want free product — it also filters out most people.

Skip product entirely and pay on results. One merchant reported sending no product at all, offering 20% commission, and getting sales from affiliates. This is Collabs working as designed: affiliate economics need no enforcement because nobody is paid until a sale happens.

Gift only after a relationship exists. Another kept Collabs installed for its interface and payouts but stopped sending gifts through it, moving gifting to email and DMs with creators they already knew. Their summary was that you still need a dedicated person to run the program, and Collabs is one channel within it rather than the program itself. A different merchant described the same shift — sourcing nano-influencers on Instagram and TikTok by hand within their niche, then using a gift form to collect shipping address and sizing rather than negotiating it in DMs. Their goal was awareness and product feedback rather than tracked sales, which is a job Collabs does not measure at all.

The common thread is that every one of these adds a qualifying step in front of the parcel — payment, a prior relationship, a performance record, or simply a human deciding. That step is the thing Collabs does not provide, and each of these merchants rebuilt it by hand.

One thing to get right if you use creator content in ads

A related exchange in that thread is worth surfacing because it is a genuine risk and no guide to Collabs mentions it.

Content a creator makes for a gifting campaign is not automatically yours to run as paid advertising. One participant described receiving a settlement after their content was used without permission. The counter-argument offered was that a formal contract is not always strictly required provided there is explicit, affirmative opt-in with the terms clearly laid out — naming every platform the content might run on — and that consent was captured through several deliberate steps rather than a single pre-ticked box.

Both sides agreed on the practical point: get written permission covering paid usage before running creator content as an ad, and treat residuals or additional compensation as reasonable when you do. Requirements vary by jurisdiction, so this is worth checking properly rather than taking from a forum thread or from this page.

Who is actually running on Shopify Collabs

Most articles about Collabs cite the same three success stories — Moonboon, Solgaard and immi — because all three are Shopify's own published case studies.

We wanted to know what brands actually do, so we checked. We opened the public creator and affiliate program pages of 36 direct-to-consumer brands and recorded what each one ran on. Twenty-seven named a platform.

Four were on Shopify Collabs:

BrandProgram typeWhat they offer
FormeAffiliate + ambassador5% default commission, gifting also offered, applications reviewed within 24 hours
immiAffiliate + ambassadorGifting plus commission through its "Ram Fam" community, reviewed within 48 hours
JolieAffiliate + ambassadorCampaigns, gifting and affiliate; rate not disclosed on-page. Also listed on ShareASale
LoisaAffiliateCommission plus a discount code; rate not stated publicly

immi is worth flagging because it appears both in Shopify's own case study and in our research independently — we found their public Collabs application running a 48-hour review, which is a useful detail on how a working Collabs program is actually staffed.

A pattern across all four: every one of them also does gifting, and three run gifting and commission side by side. That matters given the previous section. The brands making Collabs work are not relying on it to manage the gifting relationship — they are using it for links and payouts, and handling the creator relationship themselves.

What the other 23 chose instead

The remaining brands that named a platform were spread widely:

PlatformBrands
Awin3
Impact3
ShareASale2
Refersion, Later, Roster, Superfiliate, Club.co, FlexOffers, Sovrn, AspireIQ, Onbrand1 each
In-house on their own siteSeveral

Some ran more than one at once — one brand paired an in-house ambassador program with a ShareASale affiliate track, another combined Superfiliate with ShareASale tracking.

Where commission rates were public, they varied more than the "around 10%" figure that circulates:

The takeaway is not that Collabs is unpopular. It is that at 4 of 27, it is one option among many even for brands already on Shopify, and the choice usually reflects whether a brand needs an affiliate network's reach or just a way to pay the creators it already knows.

Two numbers you will see quoted that we could not verify

Several widely-read guides to Collabs state a $10,000 minimum in trailing sales for merchant eligibility and a 1,000-follower minimum for creators.

Neither figure appears anywhere in Shopify's documentation. We looked through the merchant eligibility, creator, recruiting and payments pages and found no sales threshold and no follower minimum stated. What the documentation does say is that Collabs is unavailable on Starter and Retail plans.

They may be accurate and simply undocumented. But if either number is load-bearing for your decision, verify it with Shopify directly rather than relying on a figure that appears to be circulating between articles.

Where Almond fits

If your program is affiliate-led — creators drive tracked sales and earn a percentage — Collabs handles the job well and cheaply, and there is little reason to add anything.

If your program is gifting-led, the gap described above is yours to fill. Something has to decide which creators are worth shipping product to before the parcel goes out, because nothing downstream will recover that cost.

That is the step Almond covers: one durable record per creator, carried across campaigns, with qualification before you ship and Story and post tracking after. Plenty of teams keep Collabs for links and payouts and put the qualification step in front of it.

If you want the shape of that without the software, our influencer gifting tracker lays out the fields worth keeping.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

How much does Shopify Collabs cost?
Collabs is free to install. Shopify charges a 2.9% processing fee on every automatic commission payment, billed through your Shopify bill. Automatic payments settle in USD, so a bill in another currency may also incur conversion fees. You pay the commission itself and the cost of any product you gift, including shipping.
Who can use Shopify Collabs?
Collabs is available on all Shopify plans except Starter and Retail. Creators are a separate question: as of 2026, Shopify's help centre states that "Collabs isn't accepting new creator signups at this time." Merchants can still invite creators directly and accept applications through their store page, but a creator without an existing Collabs account cannot sign up to join.
Does Shopify Collabs make creators post after they take a gift?
No. Shopify's documentation covers how to send a free product or discount code and how the resulting order appears in your admin for fulfilment. It does not define any content requirement, deliverable tracking, or consequence if a creator accepts a gift and never posts. Collabs is an affiliate tracking and payment layer; gifting accountability sits outside what it does.
How many creators can I invite on Shopify Collabs?
Merchants can invite up to 100 creators in any 7-day period, individually or in bulk via a CSV import. Invitations expire after 30 days. Note that once you decline a creator's application, that creator cannot reapply to your community using the same account.
When do creators actually get paid?
Commissions enter a holding period — 30 days by default, adjustable between 1 and 90 days. After it ends, the commission is added to your upcoming Shopify bill and paid out to creators who have activated auto payouts. Manual payments were discontinued on 8 January 2024.
Do creators actually use Shopify Collabs?
Yes, but the pool is fixed. Shopify is not accepting new creator signups, so the creator base cannot grow while that remains true, and merchants report that invitations often go unanswered. On the merchant side it is genuinely in use — in our research into 36 DTC brands, 4 of the 27 that named a platform were running live programs on Collabs. It works well as the tracking and payment layer for creators you found elsewhere, and poorly as a way to discover new ones.
How do you stop creators taking a free gift and not posting?
Collabs has no mechanism for this, so merchants build one in front of it. The patterns reported in practice are: require a purchase and refund it as store credit once content is submitted, charge a token amount so a gift is partly paid for, pay commission on sales instead of sending product at all, or gift only to creators you already have a relationship with. Each adds a qualifying step before the parcel ships, which is the step Collabs does not provide.
Can I use content from a gifted creator in paid ads?
Not automatically. Content made for a gifting campaign is not yours to run as advertising by default, and merchants have paid settlements for using it without permission. Get explicit written opt-in that names the platforms the content may run on, agreed before the content is made, and treat extra compensation for paid usage as reasonable. Requirements vary by jurisdiction, so confirm this properly rather than relying on a general guide.
What do brands use instead of Shopify Collabs?
Of the 27 brands in our research that named a platform, 4 used Shopify Collabs. The rest were spread across Awin, Impact, ShareASale, Refersion, Later, Roster, Superfiliate, Club.co, FlexOffers, Sovrn, AspireIQ and Onbrand, with several running in-house programs on their own site.

Keep every creator relationship in one place.

Almond keeps qualification, campaigns, gifting, shipping, content, and creator history on one durable record. $149/mo plus applicable tax, month-to-month, with unlimited creators.

7-day trial. Card required before access.

Want a walkthrough instead? Book a 15-min call

Related

Shopify Collabs: Costs, Limits, and What Brands Actually Use — Almond